Government, Penises, and Eathquakes! Oh my!

3/15--

Everyone went to some bureau today to try to get alien registration cards. We took a 15 minuet bus ride outside of the Nisshin area, Nisshin is where my place and the college is located. So we all huddled on the bus all like 50 people or more. And the sights were fun…lots of cool houses all with the tiled roofs. When we got to the building it was like a tax place. Lots of people were there. But basically we were in, out, and done fast. After doing some paperwork for the alien registration, they sat us down and talked about the bus and subway. My group ended up finishing first, so we had half an hour to kill before we even had to head on out. So the guy who was leading the group whipped out his harmonica and started to play for us. It was too cute!!! The women then proceeded to take out their cameras and take pictures of our reactions. After that Leah took out her cute little Japanese card game and we played that. The Japanese people there were watching us and thinking it was the cutest thing ever! After our game it was time to get back on the bus and back to iHouse. Yay.

Had some lunch…made my noodles the wrong way…your supposed to put in the liquid flavor packet and then add water….ya I didn’t add water, so it was super salty…but its ok, it was still tasty. Then from there it was off the the penis festival, ended up booking it to the bus stop cause the group left without me!!!! T_______T Good thing they weren’t too far off. So then from the bus to the trains. The train station is sooooooooo clean!!!! Its just stunningly clean!





Me and Catherine on the train! Too cute of a picture not to share!!!!

The train rides were fun! I ended up having another stupid moment. An older lady was walking down the train and I offered the seat next to me, only for her to politely turn me down, she had on a face mask on, so I thought she didn’t want to sit next to me because she was sick. But Leah oh so kindly pointed out to me she as a worker on the train. Oh joy….i felt like a complete idiot. We ended up getting a little lost, but luckily the one guy was really good at his Japanese and we made it to the right place in time. As soon as we got out of the station, the penis memorabilia was well BAM IN YOU FACE. As we got closer to the place where the actual festival was, it just got crazier and crazier…penis candy, food, posters, you name it. Just wow. Wow….


I ended up eating some good street vendor food….mmmm fried chicken and candied strawberries and grapes! I bought a souvenir. It's a koi fish prayer board! Yayay! It’s really pretty! There was also a moment when a random Japanese man grabbed me and took his picture with me. Shocked to see a ginger I guess? Not to mention one guy who wanted a picture off all us gaijin (slang for gaikokujin=foriegner.) I also had another stupid foreigner moment. The people were in the shrine doing there thing and I was taking pictures, flash and all, only too look over and realize there is a huge sign saying DO NOT TAKE PICTURES! Oh boy…go me!



The picture that was not supposed to be taken!

We then gathered around the shrine path because a parade procession was coming. Was that a sight. There were these two creepy but nice old men who kept looking at us and laughing at us and talking about us. Maybe trying to flirt with us, idk it was just weird. So down came some fancy dressed people and some shrine maidens holding small wooden penises and people were reaching out to touch them, so I built up the nerve to reach out and touch one, only for the old men next to us to say うらいやましい!(jealous)O.o oh boy. And they heartily laughed.



The old men!



I love this picture!!! It reminds me of something you'd see in Nat Geo Magazine or something like that!!! :D GO ME!!!



Then came a giant flag and then a giant orange penis shrine. The crowd started to go crazy and the shrine holders started spinning around and then they all fell over with the shrine, idk if it was supposed to happen or what. lol. Then for the next part of the ceremony, an announcer came over a loud speaker and said that children, the elderly, and people with glasses should not participate because it was dangerous. And boy was it. I stood in the back but people up on a roof were throwing down mochi into the crowd. Mochi is sticky rice formed into a ball, but this mochi was a solid rock! A friend ended up catching 2 and gave me one. I bit into it to see if there was a yummy filling, but no, it was just hard rice. Blaah. So after some more wandering around and all that jazz, we got back on the train and headed home.



mmm bananas anyone???



This guy just randomly came up to us and was showing off his wooden friend.......O.o



Hehe tiny fire truck!!

Later that night though, things got a little crazy again. I was chillin out watching a movie with a group of friends and all of a sudden, the table started to wiggle a bit, and it suddenly felt like I was on a boat and my feet started to vibrate. Oh crap…and I said, “Are we having an earth quake??!!”. And sure enough, we were. But no worries, it was the aftershock from a neighboring earthquake that was very small. But boy did it scare the crap outta me!

**WANT MORE PENIS FESTIVAL???? The rest of the exciting pictures are on facebook! :D

Wee! Fruity!

3/14--

Everyone has been saying how awful orientation is…well it was not bad at all…very easy going day. Tons of paperwork, followed by lunch..yum got oyakoudon (rice topped with chicken, egg, and veggies) followed by campus tour…it was cute, they gave us puzzle pieces for each stop we went to and when you put them all together it came to an image of a ferris wheel. At the last stop we got a prize, could get cute chop sticks, a bowl, a towel things like that. I got the colorful blue hand towel. After that we got the scholarship money…woohooo less money stress for me! Then we had pc orientation, so now I finally can have internet here. Got a username and password. 110in006…weird username right? After that it was smooth sailing. Campus is really pretty, the architecture and layout is really neat and the greenery is lovely. When the flowers bloom its gonna be amazing! When we were all done on campus we went to a store called bulldog…its like a Spencer's, without the perv stuff. There is sooo much cool stuff there. Like AMAZING! I got a purse and a change purse which is gonna come in handy over here…so much money is coins! After that we went to Hamazushi, a super cheap sushi restaurant. They had the weirdest kinds of sushi and 2 rolls were like 100 yen a piece!!!!! But some of the sushi was freakin weird. Like they had corn and mayo in seaweed…eww right. Well I had tuna and some egg and edamame and cheesecake…oh ya cheesecake. The egg was really good…it was sweet and delicious!!!!! I also learned how Australians say receipt..they call it a docket…cool huh?




Edamame nom nom nom


Egg sushi! Delicious!!!

After that we went back to Ihouse and then Liquor Mountain. I was wearing my owl hat running around saying how fruity I was acting, which I then had to explain that slang to an Australian, it was funny. I do love me these Australians….oh ya had some blue stuff made my whole mouth blue it was funneh.


Awww super tiny car outside Liquor Mountain


Fried Egg alcohol???


Liquor Mountian

Adventure...TIME!!!

3/13--

So I stayed up late last night and woke up late today…around 1 :P whoops. Jet lag sucks. Anywho hung out with Reese today. Fun guy, and we hit up the hyaku en (100 yen) store and the grocery store. This time I went back with a list…still didn’t get everything I needed though. Tons of people out today and it was over whelming. Sheesh so many people. Went to a different grocery store than last time. Its smaller but cheaper. And they have a great selection of bentos (pre-made meals) and baked goods! Yum!! But the walking part was adventurous. We took a lot of side streets and saw a cute park and detoured around a random college campus. Very small hahah there are like 12 colleges around here, all very small. Its kinds funny. The weather was just beautiful today so we took our time and enjoyed it. Saw a lot of interesting restaurants. I’ll have to go back and try once I’m more confident in my Japanese, and if I can remember the way back hahaha. When we got back to the iHouse we played super smash brothers yay. I kicked major ass..then two other guys joined and I got owned hahaha. They were actually really excited that a girl wanted to play a game with them hahaha. After that it was dinner and at 9 there was a super boring meeting about all the rules and stuff….sooo boring, but it had to be done. Hung out for a bit and had a snack of bread and starwberry jelly. The bread here is so weird…its giant. Tomorrow I finally get interwebs.YAY FINALLY!

First Day


Me and Katie on the plane!



3/12--

I woke up and a group of us went to yeast paradise, an internet café. Lovely name right? There coffee there is so pretty! I got an iced caramel coffee…very tasty. The group I went with was so friendly. A bunch of fun Australians…love their accent. Then we took a fun trip to liquor mountain ahahah they really wanted booze. From there we went to the 100 yen store…so much stuff!!! Going back tomorrow with a list of stuff to buy. SO MUCH STUFF FOR ONLY ONE DORRAR. Then we hit up the grocery store yaya…there was a food court there and I tried takoyaki…not bad.. It's a fried dough ball with sauce and octopus in it. While shopping, I got some fruit and yogurt yum…we got a bunch of stares from everyone. They all were curious as to what the foreigners were buying. Connected to the grocery store was a home goods store…that was a whole other adventure. Sheesh. It took us forever to figure out how to buy laundry detergent. Leah used her electronic dictionary and after asking people for help we almost figured it out, only to go down 2 aisles and there was freakin downy. Go figure. Then there was the adventure to find toilet paper. No it was not with the toiletries or bath stuff…no no…it was on the other side of the store, hidden behind auto supplies. Also in the store they had pets you can buy. Very cute puppies. One little girl had a cute dog and I tried to tell her how cute it was but accidentally called it scary…man I felt so bad hahah go me. It's a funny story now though :P Hung out at iHouse the rest of the night…the RA’s gave us a tour. They are so cute. Met even more awesome people and hung out with them all night. Talked video games…it was fun. Got a lot unpacked yay…almost settled in. so pretty busy day, but fun!


Pretty iced coffee!

Clear Landing!

3/11--

Arrived aok….even though there was a tsunami and an earthquake..oh my!!!!The plane ride was exhausting, I barely slept but made it in one piece. The flight from CVG to Detroit was a breeze…landing was frustrating, we waited about half and hour to get off because no one was there to set up the unloading bridge…that was annoying…I was paranoid I was gonna miss my flight! Boarded 2nd flight easily, but delayed an hour and a half. They said it was because there was a food shortage…really!? A food shortage..no way….Now I’m thinking its because that's when the earthquake happened and they told us the food problem so no one would panic, that's my guess anyways. When we landed a group met us and boarded us on a bus, and one guy rode with us for about an hour or so. Then we met another group who took us to a taxi, who drove us about 10 mins to iHouse. The iHouse is really cool and has a neat set up. My room is actually pretty big! Plus I get my own bathroom. Took me forever to figure out how to make the bed. And then I passed out. So exhausted!!!!!


Plane at Detroit!

I'll get pictures oh iHouse up soon. Oh and my room too! As soon as I make it a bit cute-er!!!!

LETS DO THIS!

Okay guys, it is time to get things moving on here! I'm gonna do my best to post all the fun things I do and show as many pictures as I can. This may also be a way to show some of my artsy photography! YAY! Idk maybe it will be like a diary and I will talk about my FEELINGS AND EMOTIONS. Who knows. I'mma post stuff and you guys will enjoy it. YOU WILL ENJOY IT!!!!!!!!